APMEX.com Dealer Review

APMEX.com – American Precious Metals Exchange Reviews

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Loyal Customer

Aug 07, 2015 by David A.

I have been a loyal customer for many years. I have always gotten the product in a secure way. I know what amount of gold or silver purchases with Apmex by just going to my account. I will continue to purchase my silver and gold from this company as long as I am in the hobby. I highly recommend you to buy from APMEX.


It's o.k.....

Oct 14, 2014 by Danny M

I would have to say APMEX is o.k. I am new to this and found their site and thought the price was good. I bought 3, 1 oz secondary market bars and I am happy with the speed of delivery and quality of product. I liked the fact I did not have to have a minimum order to be able to buy from them. But then I found another place that is cheaper for the silver AND shipping AND no minimum order too. I am not a rich guy and have to try to get the most bang for my buck where I can. I haven't bought from the other place yet, but I will be soon. I am not saying I won't ever buy from APMEX again, I probably will if the price is right for the product I want.


Large Selection, Large Premium

Nov 22, 2013 by Steve R

I have ordered several times, 5 or 6 I believe from APMEX. I have never had an issue with payments and the PM's I order from them are always well packaged and arrive in a decent amount of time.
I normally order my silver from Gainesville Coins, but there are times I do order from APMEX when Gainesville coins is out of stock on certain items I am looking for, mainly foreign coins. APMEX does have a large selection of product, but you certainly pay for their inventory with some of the highest premiums above spot prices on the compare silver web site.
In summary, if you have a specific need for a certain graded coin or hard to find coin APMEX is great and you will be satisfied. If you are just looking for bullion products, try Gainesville, Kitco, Liberty, you will do much better on pricing there.


Censorship

Jul 05, 2013 by TheCollector

Some Nice Coins, Fast expensive shipping as we all know. Primary complaint is their similarity to so many companies who censor us: I purchased several coins and a few were not up to par and when I attempted to provide an honest but deserved negative review, they marked the review as "under review" the deleted them without posting. So they won't allow a negative comment even if deserved. I refuse to deal with companies who violate our rights to privacy and free speech.


First Time, Last Time

Apr 30, 2013 by Kevin Connerton

Apmex returned my check without trying to cash it, along with hand scribbled note I took as a cancellation. I went elsewhere. Weeks later their collections department hounding me for returned check fee and their lost profit on my order. Pay up or we'll continue to harass is the message I get. Avoid these expensive money suckers, and their "customer satisfaction is our goal" is a joke. Most of my inquiries on this issue went unanswered, phone calls unreturned, no compromise, though they will lose my business and hopefully yours, as a result of money first, money last policy.


Quality

Apr 17, 2013 by jim b

I ordered with a check. They did everything as they said they would do. I would order again from them.


Good but Expensive

Feb 08, 2013 by John Paul

I bought from Apmex for years until I moved to California. Good service but I buy large quantities and their prices are just too high. When I moved to San Diego I discovered Libertycpm.com and I now buy from them. HiHo Silver!!


Ampex. Expensive yet reliable

Feb 06, 2013 by Brad W.

I just started stacking and since i see the banner for apmex on a lot of websites, i thought it was a good place to start. It seems that It has higher premium then other sites. Ive also noticed that the shipping was kind of expensive. I purchased a few ASE's and probably wont buy any more.


Quality offerings, buy in bulk

Feb 06, 2013 by James Rathz

APmex has a great selection, and generally has most products that you want in stock. As most people have mentioned, the shipping charges are higher; however in my opinion you are paying a premium for the fact they are reputable. Try buying about $200 to make it worth shipping.


Meh...

Feb 06, 2013 by SirT

APMEX has a great selection of gold and silver products. However, their premiums are silly and their shipping is over priced. If you pay with a check it takes weeks to get your order and if you pay with a credit card they charge you even more. The kicker is you cant wire them money unless you spend over 5,000 or something. Which leaves you those two more inconvenient options. This company is huge and their customer service shows that. I ordered once from them and wont again unless they have something I can't find elsewhere.


Compare Silver Prices Online , USA 3.9 5.0 32 32 I have been a loyal customer for many years. I have always gotten the product in a secure way. I know what amount of gold or silver purchases with Apmex by just going to my account
Page:
1234

4 thoughts on “APMEX.com Dealer Review

  1. I have enjoyed Apmex with dozens of orders over a few years period. They were the first and only dealer I had the courage to deal with. I enjoyed free shipping having earned a platinum status with them. I found there reasonable although not impressively quick to ship. They held my checks for maximum periods although clearing was instant. I have found them not to be as competitive as most other dealers online for buying, but they are one of the few dealers who will purchase, and that has value to me being that someday I will want to sell some of my purchases. Probably one of the most established and reputable dealers there are, especially having there own issue of bullion. Highly recommended but you can usually save a percent or 2 with other dealers.

  2. Robert Happek / May 15, 2015 at 2:19 am

    In my judgement, Apmex (bought from them for more than $100K over the past 10 years) is one of the best online dealers. The quality of their packaging and the reliability of their service is in my opinion worth the small premium they charge over the competition. After 10 years of dealing with them, I have never had any complaint. But I had many returns with other online dealers. I finally decided to play it safe and to deal only with Apmex. The additional peace of mind is in my opinion worth the small additional premium. I can not follow the previous reviewers of Apmex. These reviews are in my opinion biased.

  3. I’ve placed several orders with APMEX and had nothing but great experiences. I always order at least 25oz of gold and/or 500oz of silver each order, so I get good prices (within $1/oz of best price for gold, and $0.02/oz for silver) and never pay for shipping. Plus, delivery is always just 2 or 3 days (except for large silver orders, which are shipped by ground and therefore take close to a week). I’ve always paid by wire-transfer.

    After reading other reviews and checking their claims, it does appear customers who buy small quantities of gold or silver can get somewhat better prices elsewhere, and sometimes save on shipping. This doesn’t impact me, but might impact you. I much prefer the APMEX product selection too, though I never buy odd, rare, fancy or sophisticated items (I pretty much stick to 1oz gold pamp bars, 1oz buffalos, and attractive but super-low premium 1oz rounds and 10oz silver rounds and bars).

    For people like me, APMEX can’t be beat. For small orders, they may be a bit more expensive than the 2 or 3 cheapest suppliers (based on reviews of other dealers in this website). But APMEX is huge, and gives every indication they are highly dependable, which matters very much to me on such important transactions.

  4. I have been purchasing products from Apmex for years and find them outstanding. With bullion dealers going out of business, you have to be very carefull who you order from. Prices are important, but delivery is everything.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>